June 2018
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat

Calendar Calendar

Hiring a car in Nakon?

Go down

Hiring a car in Nakon?

Post by Ovation1357 on Sun Jul 17, 2011 3:22 pm

Hi All,
I hope I'm not gate-crashing your forum because I think most of the chat here is from people who live in the area and actually I'm a UK resident! But, my wife and I will be staying in Sichon, NST in August for 7 days on our honey-moon, which is fueling my interest in the area.

We're planning to try and get a mini-van from Phuket to Nakhon and then either hire a car or find a private driver if the price is similar... From the information we've read about the area, people say that you really need a car to see the sights, but so far the closest internet car hire I can find is over in Surat-Thani.

I suspect that for at least part of our trip we will just relax at the resort, so ideally we would like to find somewhere just to hire a car on a daily basis.. Or, are there many english-speaking taxi drivers in the area? I have got no idea what a taxi driver might charge, but if we could find a driver/guide for a few day trips then that might work better.

The most important thing about our visit to Thailand is that we want to soak up the Thai culture where-ever possible - eating local food is a must and anything involving wildlife/forest/caves/waterfalls will be big on our list.

Thanks in advance to anyone who replies

Regards
Jonathan
Ovation1357

Back to top Go down

Re: Hiring a car in Nakon?

Post by Admin on Sun Jul 17, 2011 8:10 pm

There are plenty of mini-buses that run Phuket Town to NST. All I can say is 'Good Luck' coz they drive like idiots possessed.